25 and Counting

Today Corbin and I are celebrating 25 years of marriage. WOW and Praise Jesus.

It just so happened that the five days we could wrangle family time this summer coincided with our silver wedding anniversary – Corbin literally booked this trip last spring without us realizing the overlap. So imagine my joy of getting to watch our wedding video last night- for the first time with our kiddos – while they were held captive in our hotel suite… and imagine the added joy that 25 years later, they know most all of our wedding party and have grown up with these people and their own families. If you live life with us, you know how intertwined our lives remain with these incredible friends. It’s just too much, too many gifts wrapped up in all of this.

These pictures, while transferred from VHS to DVD to digital, and then screen-shotted (I’m not sure that’s a word?) this morning from my laptop screen, still tell a thousand words.

8.11.96 First Christian Church, downtown Fort Worth
Corbin greeting the congregation as the service began
As dad performed the service, he shared several times how these friends and their families shaped us. He was right. And 25 years later, it’s still happening.
Papa praying over us. I married the right man, and was doubly blessed by marrying the right family.
Matron of Honor, Jessica Gentry Brogdon ~ Baylor roommate, laughing and crying together for 30+ years
Heather Hildebrand Davenport – heart friend from YL Frontier Ranch high school days to now
Kristin Anderson Hill (married two weeks apart – happy 25 to you and Eric!) – Baylor roommate, we can arm wrestle with our kids over which generation are BFFs
Jude Oliver Pinson – precious Jude, Baylor roommate and instant heart friend; connected me to all of our BU girlfriends. Selfless soul
Cameron Wilson Benjamin – doula for my four births, stretches me in every way, loves me deeply
Kristin Wenning Cowden – Baylor friend, her eyes and heart shine brighter than her watercolor paintings
Kirsten Anderson Dickerson ~ Baylor roommate, widest ministry of anyone I know, rubs elbows with poor and wealthy around the globe
Amy Allison Schneiderjan ~ no other Amy, intelligent AND wise with that big grin, together we devoured lattes and Shakespeare during our Baylor years
Wendy Miller – my Kanakuk roomie for four years, from co-counselors to leadership at K2. Taught me how to love well
Cammi Carlson Moffatt – Oh my word let’s just keep each other going, can we?! FAITHFUL, loyal friend
Meredith George Hall ~ bright spirit, bright heart and dear friend
Beth Boatwright McFarlane ~ authentic joy, has a special way of elevating others, humble and funny
Michelle Dyrenfurth Ham ~ stunning beauty and brains
Julia Parmelee Russell ~ God knit our hearts together in high school, I learned from you then, still learn from you now. And…. War Eagle
Clinton Wilson ~ I fell in love with this Wilson first
Alan Benjamin ~ the only man for Cameron, loves our kids tenaciously
Trey James – Every girl needs an older brother, there’s none other like this one
Christian James ~ I love being associated with you, getting to be your sister; and Clif Wiegand – longtime childhood best friend
Luke James ~ now a father of five, you’ve outdone me! Could not be prouder of the man you’ve become
Todd Brogdon ~ aka TB, if children are the fruit you are one fabulous father
Chris Wolfe ~ faithful friend to us both, you are family. You are a rock star dad. And Husband. And son. And Judge.
Rich Gochis – one of the men who shaped Corbin during college years, happy to watch Hannah from the Baylor sidelines this fall
Bob Royce – thankful for your steady influence on and friendship with my husband!
Alan Keister ~ Oh my we are still reeling from watching you on the dance floor of Abby’s wedding last weekend
There’s no one, no one like Ross Purdy.
Joy, laughter, kindness… all of my kids are jealous of Sydney and Ford
My favorite men
Grandma Esther ~ believe me, your legacy continues
Charles and Jamie, but really Mama and Papa
Bill and Claudene, now Cappy and Daboo
oh happy day

I love this last pic, reminds my of Granny (Gladys James).
25 years ~ truly, more than I could ask or imagine.
Lord willing, looking forward to 25 more!

Comments are closed.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑